Flag of Zambia


Zambia, officially the Republic of Zambia, is a landlocked country in southern Africa. It is bordered by the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north; Tanzania to the north-east; Malawi to the east; Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe to the south and Angola to the west. Formerly Northern Rhodesia, the country is named after the Zambezi river, which together with the man-made Lake Kariba forms the frontier with Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls, at the southern end of the Lake Kariba, is one of the most spectacular sights in Africa (if not the world).

In the east and northeast, the country rises to a plateau 1200 m (3937 ft) high, covered by deciduous savannah, small trees, grassy plains or marshland. The magnificent Luangwa and Kafue National Parks have some of the most prolific animal populations in Africa. Most tourism is concentrated in nine of the 19 parks - Sumbu, Kafue, Lochinvar, Luangwa, Musi-oa-Tunya, Lower Zambezi, Kasanka and Sioma Ngwezi - the remainder, as yet, having fewer facilities. Herds of buffalo, elephant and antelope are easily spotted and there are plenty of lions and zebra. There are also rhinos, monkeys, baboons, wild pigs, hippopotami and crocodiles.

Attractions in the capital, Lusaka, include nightclubs, restaurants, cinemas, the Cathedral of the Holy Cross, the Munda Wanga Botanical Gardens and Zoo. Lusaka has dancing and floorshows in the main hotels, cinemas and theatres. Local culinary specialities include bream from the Zambezi, Kafue and Luapula rivers.

Map of Zambia