Flag of Uruguay


The Eastern Republic of Uruguay is a nation situated in the southeastern part of South America. It is bordered by Brazil to the north, the Uruguay River to the west, the estuary of the Río de la Plata (literally 'River of the Silver') to the southwest, with Argentina on the other bank of both, and the South Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. About half of its people live in the capital and largest city, Montevideo. Uruguay is the second smallest independent country in South America, and is the most politically and economically stable.

Although Uruguay may be pint-sized, it's certainly big-hearted when it comes to attractions. It contains one of South America's most interesting capitals, charming colonial towns, the hilly interior (true gaucho country) and a cluster of internationally renowned beach resorts.

Map of Uruguay