Flag of UAE

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates (also known as the UAE or the Emirates) is a Middle Eastern country situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia on the Persian Gulf and bordering Oman and Saudi Arabia. It comprises of a union of seven sovereign sheikhdoms (emirates): Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain, formed when the British withdrew from the Gulf in 1971.

The UAE boasts mountains, beaches, deserts, oases, camel racing, Bedouin markets and the legendary duty free shopping of Dubai, all packed into a relatively small area. It also has the most relaxed entry regulations in the region, the best tourist infrastructure and, despite promoting itself exclusively to wealthy tourists, it's also extremely accessible to independent budget travellers.

Map of the United Arab Emirates