Flag of Turks & Caicos Islands

Turks & Caicos Islands

The Turks and Caicos Islands (TCI) are a British Overseas Territory consisting of two groups of tropical islands in an archipelago that forms the southeastern end of the Bahamas chain.

There are two principal groups, each surrounded by a continuous coral reef. Caicos is the larger group and includes Providenciales, Middle (or Grand) Caicos, and the islands of North, South, East and West Caicos, plus numerous small cays, some of which are inhabited. The Turks group, separated by a 35km-wide (22-mile) channel of water, consists of Grand Turk, Salt Cay and a number of small uninhabited cays.

The Turks and Caicos Islands are a spectacular destination for those who wish to get away from it all. There are numerous national parks, beautiful white sand beaches, nature preserves, sanctuaries and historical sites. Island specialities include whelk soup, conch chowder, lobster and special types of fresh fish. There are nightclubs and discos, and hotels arrange beach parties and other entertainments.

Map of Turks and Caicos Islands