Flag of Tanzania


The United Republic of Tanzania lies on the east coast of Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south; Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west, and the Indian Ocean to the east. The country takes its name from Tanganyika, its mainland, and the Zanzibar islands off its east coast. In 1964, Tanganyika united with Zanzibar, forming the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, later renamed to the United Republic of Tanzania. In 1996, Tanzania's capital was officially moved from Dar es Salaam to Dodoma, although many government offices still remain in the old capital.

The major port, Dar es Salaam, is the natural starting point for trips in Tanzania. It is near Mount Kilimanjaro, the capital city Dodoma and the nearby island of Zanzibar. Many beautiful beaches are within easy reach of Dar es Salaam, such as those at Kunduchi, Mjimwena and Mbwa Maji. Kunduchi, 24 km (15 miles) north of the city, is a fishing village with nearby ruins of Persian tombs and mosques.

The beautiful island of Zanzibar is only 20 minutes' flight from Dar es Salaam. Mount Kilimanjaro, at 5,895 m (19,341 ft), Africa's highest mountain is a major attraction for mountaineers, with the ascent taking about three days. Tanzania's national parks extend over some 33,660 sq km (13,000 sq miles), including the Serengeti National Park (14,763 sq km - 5678 sq miles), claimed to be the finest in Africa. Here are 35 species of plain-dwelling animals, including wildebeest and zebra, and also an extensive selection of birdlife. The Selous Game Reserve is larger than Switzerland and covers 5% of Tanzania's land surface.

Generally, the nightlife centres are in the top tourist hotels and restaurants.

Map of Tanzania