Flag of Sudan


The Republic of the Sudan is the largest country in Africa and the largest Arab country (by area). It is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, Kenya and Uganda to the southeast, Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west and Libya to the northwest. Khartoum, the capital, is situated at the confluence of the Blue and White Niles.

Among Sudan's tourist attractions are the Omdurman camel market and the Arab souk. Particularly noteworthy is the well-organised National Museum that contains archaeological treasures dating back to 4000 BC and earlier. The main areas of archaeological interest in Sudan are to be found beside the Nile, north of Khartoum, such as Bajrawiya, Naga and Meroe.

The Dinder National Park, covering 6,475 sq km (2,500 sq miles) southeast of Khartoum on the Ethiopian border, is one of the largest in the world. There are many species of wild animals, including lion, leopard, kudu, bushbuck and antelope. The Red Sea, with the transparency of its water, the variety of its fish and the charm of its marine gardens and coral reefs, is one of Sudan's main tourist attractions.

The staple diet is fool, a type of bean, and dura, cooked maize or millet, which is eaten with various vegetables. Alcohol is banned by the Islamic sharia code.

Map of Sudan