Saint Kitts & Nevis

The Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis (or the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis), located in the Leeward Islands, is a unitary island nation in the Caribbean and the smallest nation in the Americas in both area and population. The capital city and government for the federated state is mainly on the larger island of Saint Kitts (formerly named Saint Christopher). The smaller state of Nevis (formerly named: Nuestra Señora de las Nieves) lies about 3 km southeast of Saint Kitts. Historically the British dependency of Anguilla was also a part of this union, which was then known collectively as Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla.

Although Saint Kitts & Nevis are geographically within the Leeward Islands, they are relatively close to a cluster of several other islands. To the north-northwest lie the islands of Saint Eustatius, Saba, Saint Barthélemy and Saint Martin; to the northeast are Antigua and Barbuda, and to the south-east is Montserrat.

The islands of St Kitts and Nevis are unique in the Eastern Caribbean for their remarkable preservation of West Indian culture and attitudes. Nowhere else in the region will you find such pristine examples of colonial architecture, gorgeous plantation inns, ramshackle sugar mills and genuine hospitality.

While there are ample opportunities for excellent diving and snorkelling, hiking and horse riding, kicking-back is the order of the day on both islands, their low-key ambience stemming, in large part, from the lack of massive resorts common elsewhere in the region. St Kitts' popular Frigate Bay area is currently undergoing expansion, however, which may herald a new era.

Map of Saint Kitts and Nevis