Flag of Malaysia


Malaysia is a federation of thirteen states in Southeast Asia and consists of two geographical regions divided by the South China Sea: East Malaysia and West Malaysia. Malaysian Borneo (or East Malaysia) occupies the northern part of the island of Borneo, bordering Indonesia and surrounding the Sultanate of Brunei. It consists of the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the federal territory of Labuan. Peninsular Malaysia (or West Malaysia) on the Malay Peninsula shares a land border on the north with Thailand and is connected by the Johor-Singapore Causeway and the Malaysia-Singapore Second Link to the south with Singapore.

Malaysia is one of the most pleasant, hassle-free countries to visit in South-East Asia. It's buoyant and wealthy, and has moved towards a pluralist culture based on a vibrant and interesting fusion of Malay, Chinese, Indian and indigenous cultures and customs.

Most visitors to Malaysia stick to the modern exciting city of Kuala Lumpur, the hedonistic torpor of Langkawi or the colonially soothing Cameron Highlands Hill Station. However, the island of East Malaysia offers spectacular wildlife, longhouses and the awe-inspiring Mt Kinabalu.

Map of Malaysia