Flag of Guinea


The Republic of Guinea (formerly known as French Guinea) is located in West Africa and bounded by Mali to the north and north-east, Côte d'Ivoire to the south-east, Liberia to the south, Sierra Leone to the southwest, the Atlantic ocean to the west, Guinea-Bissau to the northwest and Senegal to the north.

Guinea is sometimes known as Guinea-Conakry per its capital, to differentiate it from the neighbouring Guinea-Bissau, whose capital is Bissau.

Guinea's main attraction to tourists is its relatively undisturbed countryside, with landscape varying from mountains to plains and from savannah to forest. In the northeast, savannah plains of the Sahel region stretch into Mali, whilst to the south are mountains known as the Guinea Highlands. The River Niger flows north from the southern highlands into Mali before turning south again through Niger and Nigeria. The coastal plain is made up of mangrove swamps. Guinea also encompasses the water source of the Senegal and Gambia rivers.

The capital, Conakry, is located on the island of Tumbo and connected to the Kaloum Peninsula by a 300m-long (984ft) pier. The city is well laid out; its alleys shaded by mangrove and coconut palm trees. Guinea has a strong music tradition and Conakry, in particular, is a dynamic centre for music. The singing of the Kindia people is especially renowned.

Map of Guinea