Guadeloupe, in the Caribbean, is an overseas department of France that comprises Guadeloupe proper (Basse-Terre), Grande-Terre (separated from Basse-Terre by a narrow sea channel) and five smaller islands.

Basse-Terre has a rough volcanic relief whilst Grande Terre features rolling hills and flat plains. All the islands have beautiful white- or black-sand palm-fringed beaches. There are also many lush mountainous areas with stunning and unspoiled tropical scenery.

Pointe-à-Pitre, the commercial capital of Guadeloupe, is a gracious town with a pleasant square at its core. It has an active, lively port with many narrow streets to explore. On Basse-Terre, Sainte-Marie-de-Capesterre, where Columbus landed, should be visited, as should the Hindu temple to its south. Island specialities include stuffed crab and broiled dove. A local speciality, Rum Punch (a brew of rum, lime, bitter and syrup), is a must. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and discotheques, with displays of local dancing and music. The famous dance of the island is called the Biguine, where colourful and ornate Creole costumes are still worn.

Map of Guadeloupe