Flag of Georgia


Georgia (known officially from 1990 to 1995 as the Republic of Georgia) is a country in Eurasia within an area known as Caucasus, which is a mountain range between the Black and Caspian Seas. It is bounded to the north by Russia; to the south-east by Azerbaijan; to the south by Armenia; and to the south-west by Turkey. The English name 'Georgia' comes from the Greek word 'Georgios' meaning 'farmer'.

Geographically, Georgia is diverse; the mixture of the subtropical Black Sea coast of western Georgia and the Alpine zone in the Caucasus mountains attracts many tourists, and the country is considered both an excellent sea resort and an excellent ski resort. Georgia is also well-known for its wine-making.

Map of Georgia