Flag of Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea, is a country in West Middle Africa, bordered by Cameroon on the north, Gabon on the south and east, and the Gulf of Guinea on the west, where the islands of São Tomé and Príncipe lie to its southwest. It is the smallest country (in terms of population) in continental Africa, the smallest United Nations member from continental Africa, and the smallest Spanish-speaking country in the world. The discovery of sizeable oil reserves has changed the history of the country in recent years.

Formerly the Spanish colony of Spanish Guinea, the country also includes a number of islands, including the sizable island of Bioko (formerly Fernando Poo) 34 km off the coast of Cameroon, and the small offshore islands of Corisco, Great Elobey, Small Elobey and Annobón (formerly Pagalu).

Equatorial Guinea is a country of luscious vegetation and beautiful scenery, including tropical forests and volcanoes. The mainland province, Rió Muni, is mainly forest, with plantations on the coastal plain and some mountains. Bioko, which houses the country's capital, rises steeply to two main peaks in the north and south. The southern area is rugged and inaccessible, and the beaches around the islands are extremely beautiful. The capital, Malabo (formerly Santa Isabel), is a rather rundown but attractive town, with pleasant Spanish colonial architecture, a striking volcanic setting and a lively market. Most restaurants serve Spanish or continental cuisine. Beer is usually expensive, though a local sugar cane brew, malamba, can be sampled very cheaply.

Map of Equatorial Guinea