Flag of Ecuador


The Republic of Ecuador is located in South America, bordered by Colombia to the north, by Peru to the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands (Archipiélago de Colón) in the Pacific, about 965 kilometres (600 miles) west of the mainland. The country is named from the fact that it straddles the equator (Ecuador is the Spanish word for equator).

Representing the smallest country in the rugged Andean highlands, Ecuador has an array of vibrant indigenous cultures, well-preserved colonial architecture, otherworldly volcanic landscapes and dense rainforest - all in a nation just slightly larger than the United Kingdom.

Map of Ecuador