Flag of Denmark


The Kingdom of Denmark is the smallest of the Scandinavian countries and consists of most of the Jutland Peninsula, several islands in the Baltic Sea (the largest include Zealand, Fyn, Lolland, Falster and Bornholm), and some of the northern Frisian Islands in the North Sea. It is located north of its only land neighbour, Germany, southwest of Sweden, and south of Norway. The Kingdom of Denmark also encompasses two off-shore territories, Greenland and the Faroe Islands, both of which enjoy wideranging home rule.

Copenhagen, capital of Denmark, is a lively city, brimming with cosy bars and some of the best live music venues to be had in Scandinavia. The city really comes to life in summer, when everyone seems to take to the streets as the Danish winter recedes and the sun glitters over Copenhagen's attractive canalside. Drop in on the Little Mermaid, the unofficial symbol of the city, or relax in the Tivoli Gardens. Full of quirky architecture, unusual shops and plenty of places to stop for a pint of Carlsberg, Copenhagen is a great introduction to the delights of Denmark.

Map of Denmark