Flag of Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands are an overseas territory of the United Kingdom in the western Caribbean Sea, 290km (180 miles) northwest of Jamaica, and comprise Grand Cayman, Little Cayman and Cayman Brac. Cayman's beaches are renowned to be among the best in the world, in particular Seven Mile Beach on Grand Cayman. The abundance of fish, marine life and spectacular coral reefs which can be found in the surrounding waters makes the Cayman Islands an ideal destination for diving enthusiasts.

Grand Cayman is the main tourist destination and its capital, George Town, is today one of the leading commercial centres in the Caribbean region. The gingerbread-style buildings lining George Town's harbour front are prime examples of traditional Caymanian architecture. Cayman Brac, northeast of Grand Cayman, is a much smaller island, about 19km (12 miles) long and about 1.6km (1 mile) wide. The area is riddled with caves and dozens of wrecks for divers to explore. It provided the basis for Robert Louis Stevenson's famous novel Treasure Island. Eleven kilometres (7 miles) southeast of Cayman Brac, the tiny island of Little Cayman is best known as a sanctuary for wild birds and iguanas. It is also known as the world's best location for bonefishing.

The food and restaurants in the Cayman Islands are excellent, in particular the variety of local fish specialities. The Cayman Turtle Farm, one of Grand Cayman's tourist attractions, now undertakes strict conservation measures. The Cayman Islands have a fairly limited number of nightclubs, which sometimes feature international acts.

Map of the Cayman Islands