Flag of Bosnia & Herzegovina

Bosnia & Herzegovina

The Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina (also known as Bosna i Hercegovina or BiH) is a country on the Balkan peninsula of southern Europe that was part of the the former Yugoslavia. It is bounded by the west and north by Croatia; to the east by Serbia; to the south by Montenegro; and a small portion of Adriatic Sea coastline to its southeast. The nation's capital and largest city is Sarajevo, seated between several high mountains.

The country's name comes from the two regions Bosnia and Herzegovina, which have a very vaguely defined border between them. Bosnia occupies the northern areas, which are roughly four fifths of the entire country, while Herzegovina occupies the rest in the south part of the country.

It is thought that the name 'Bosnia' comes from the name of the Bosna river, which itself is derived from Roman and Illyian words meaning 'running water'. The name 'Herzegovina' means 'Duke's Lands', taken from the time that the area was ruled by Duke Stefan Vukcic Kosaca (the Herzog of Saint Sava) in the 1440s.

Map of Bosnia and Herzegovina